Awards Details


  • Nominations will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on July 1, 2013
  • Everyone is eligible to nominate a branch, including individuals, elected officials, library staff, and representatives of community groups and businesses
  • A library may NOT nominate itself, but a library staff member may submit a nomination for any branch, including his/her branch of employment
  • Non-NYC residents who use NYC libraries are welcome to submit nominations
  • You may nominate only ONE library for a NYC Neighborhood Library Award
  • You may submit only ONE nomination
  • Nominated libraries must be a branch of the Brooklyn Public Library, the Queens Public Library, or the New York Public Library (which operates in the Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island)
  • The following five branch libraries are NOT participating in the NYC Neighborhood Library Awards:
    In Manhattan: Donnell Library Center, Washington Heights Library
    In Staten Island: Stapleton Library
    In Queens: Seaside Library, Queensboro Hill Library
  • The library you nominate does not have to be located in the borough where you live. For example, some people most frequently use the library near their workplace or school
  • The strongest nominations will explain why a library branch should win this award, using specific examples and personal anecdotes
  • Online nominations are strongly encouraged, but you may request a paper nomination form at your local library or by calling the Revson Foundation at 212-935-3340 ext. 0
  • Nominations will only be accepted in English and Spanish


  • Library branches will be judged based on the quality of the nominations, NOT on the greatest number of votes
  • Nominations will be vetted by a Foundation review committee
  • Ten finalists will be selected and announced in August 2013
  • Five branch libraries will be selected by a panel of judges to receive a NYC Neighborhood Library Award


  • Five NYC branch libraries will win a NYC Neighborhood Library Award; winning libraries will be announced in September 2013
  • The five winning branches will receive $10,000 each and will be publicly honored at an award ceremony
  • At least one branch from each of New York City's three public library systems (Brooklyn Public Library, Queens Public Library, and New York Public Library) will receive a NYC Neighborhood Library Award
  • There is no quota for any borough/county

For general inquiries or assistance, please call the Revson Foundation at 212-935-3340 ext. 0